Skip to content

March shop and craft update!

March 18, 2015

I couldn’t do a February update as I was busy with a custom order, which I can now tell you about! This is (before washing) the second of two skeins of light fingering weight yarn I was commissioned to do.

wpid-wp-1426446232495.jpeg

The final thickness and length were both super satisfying. I beat my previous record for length from 100g by 100m! It was a real challenge to get the yarn as fine as I wanted it, but the recipient is thankfully happy with it, and I’m really looking forward to seeing what they make with it!

wpid-wp-1426446283028.jpeg

Because of having to concentrate so closely on the commissioned project, I decided to have some fun with my next few skeins, and have been playing around!

wpid-wp-1426446195766.jpeg

This pink was a JOY to spin! I didn’t concentrate too much on making it any particular thickness, and did a very simple and lazy 2ply with it by balling it using my wool winder, then taking the outer and inner ends and plying them together.

wpid-wp-1426446151228.jpeg

Apparently my resting WPI for merino is 16wpi, and again, I was very pleased with the length I got.

IMG_20150318_113747I stuck this up on the shop today, after managing to get some pretty good pics of it. (Shop link, pink merino yarn)

The next thing I got my teeth into was something completely new! I’d noticed a pleasing synchrony of colours in my stash between some merino tops and a couple of machine yarns, so decided to try doing some thick and thin spinning and combine the different elements to make things interesting.

IMG_20150307_153036

Obviously I also put some sparkles in there because Why Would You Not! (Merino top thick and thin, plied with acrylic green and sparkles)

IMG_20150318_114215

These two also seemed to go together quite well. (Merino and silk, plied with cotton)

IMG_20150307_153032

And the yarn I ended up with from this I’m also really happy with.

IMG_20150318_113955

I had some of the merino single left, but not enough to sell. I made a 2ply with it, using the same method as the pink above, and I’m going to try using it as a contrast yarn to finish off a top I’ve had half-knitted for about 18 months! I’ll let you know how I get on with that!

Apart from all the spinning, I took apart an old poncho and am reusing the yarn to make a big baggy cardigan, and after finding some very bright odds and ends of sock yarn in my spring cleaning, am working on the most eye-bleedingly bright socks you ever did see! I can’t wait to wear them!

Also, just for fun, I played around with some nail polish! See you next month!

IMG_20150315_223438

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

