Skip to content

January Shop and Craft Update

February 4, 2015

One of my resolutions for 2015 is to add two things to my Etsy shop each month, and to blog about it when I do, to spare my poor darling partners from at least some of my yarn based enthusiasm.

image

Above is the last month’s work on the wheel. I know that to most people for whom spinning is a job, this isn’t much, but I’m really proud of it, and I think that I’ve got a sustainable work rate, given my current level of ability.

Now, on to the geeky stuff!

Recently, a friend and I visited Wingham Wool Work in Yorkshire. If you’re a spinner and you ever have the chance to go, take it! Here are some pics to show you some of the reasons why they have earned a reputation as one of the best fibre wholesalers in the UK.

image

image

These photos show one of the back sheds in which there are more shades of merino/silk blend than I may ever be able to spin. (Although I am tempted to try.)

image

This view shows the wall of samples in this shed. I’ve been trying them randomly, but I think I might need a more systematic approach. Alphabetical? Top to bottom? Colour wheel?

image

The natural wool shed! There are so many different breeds in here! When I’m feeling brave, I’m going to start experimenting with putting this lot together with lots and lots of dye!

image

And, last one of the shop, here is my fabulous partner in yarn, Sy.

Alas, I can’t show you what I’m working on at the moment as it’s a secret commission, although I will be putting up lots of pictures when I can as it’s a lovely project.

Please check out my shop over on FLK shop on Etsy. I’ve done a bit of a refresh today and added the skeins from the top of this post. Get them before they go!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. lovely! all that handspun is beautiful

  2. I enjoy, cause I found exactly what I was taking a look for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have
    a nice day. Bye

Leave a Reply

