Skip to content

Boring health update

November 11, 2011

So, since the last time I blogged about my health I've got new drug, tried new drug, new drug didn't work and in fact made things worse, again, and am now back on no meds. Also waiting to get booked in for some time as an inpatient where they'll try to 'catch' an episode to see what's going on.

So, fearlessknits, what's life like right now? Well, it's a bit of a daily lottery. Many people will be familiar with 'spoon theory'. If you're not, read this now:

http://www.butyoudontlooksick.com/articles/written-by-christine/the-spoon-theory-written-by-christine-miserandino/

So, every day, before I wake up, the universe plays a lottery to figure out how many spoons I get that day. It does not share the result with me. On Monday I got so many I was able to do a whole day's work including a very stressful meeting, then go down to #occupysheffield, stay there doing stuff 'til 9pm, then draft and send off more stuff when I got home.

On Tuesday I woke with no spoons at all. None. It took me 4 hours to get out of bed to pee. Yesterday was a little better, and today I had enough that I could not only have a shower, but also make some porridge and my own tea! (I know. Fucking pathetic, isn't it?)

The point is, a lot of the time, I don't know how many spoons I have until I run out of them. And collapse.

Which makes any kind of planning really hard, and means I'm not doing a lot of stuff I had committed to doing.

Please be patient with me. If I can't meet you, or duck out of something at the last minute, I'm not screwing you around. I have all the diplomacy of a half-brick through plate glass – if I have an issue with you, I'll tell you, and if I've not told you, it's because there isn't an issue.

Right, it's time to try and sleep some more. I am so fucking sick of the inside of my eyelids.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

