Skip to content

JobCentre Plus’s incompetant computers

June 21, 2011

So, a week ago, I swallowed my pride, and finally applied for the income support I’ve apparently been eligible for for about 2 years. Before that, about four or five years ago, I had been between temping jobs, and had applied for jobseeker’s allowance. (I didn’t get any because of a technicality, but that’s another story.)

So, like a responsible citizen, I check it out. I look on the DWP website, and see that they encourage you to apply online, and that I can fill in most of the tedious detail without wasting anyone’s time on the phone. I filled in all my details, said that I would prefer to be contacted on my mobile and sent it off.

This morning, I received a letter saying that they had tried to contact me twice, without success. I was a bit miffed, but okay. I rang up.

They were using the mobile number I gave them 5 years ago.

O_O

I have to go to work now, so I’ll continue my explorations into their bureaucracy and broken computers tomorrow. But really, 5 years? Wow.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

