Skip to content

Pvt Manning confirms she’s a woman

August 22, 2013

There has for some time been mounting evidence that Pvt Manning, the hero behind the Wikileaks exposure of classified US military documents, is trans and should therefore more properly be referred to using female pronouns and another name. This morning, she released a statement confirming that she is a woman, and requesting that from now on she be referred to exclusively using female pronouns and her chosen name, Chelsea. I have, however, found it difficult so far to find a news source reporting on this without using male pronouns. Therefore, I’ve copied the complete text of Manning’s statement from www.today.com and post it below for those who wish to share Chelsea’s news without misgendering her:

Subject: The Next Stage of My Life

I want to thank everybody who has supported me over the last three years. Throughout this long ordeal, your letters of support and encouragement have helped keep me strong. I am forever indebted to those who wrote to me, made a donation to my defense fund, or came to watch a portion of the trial. I would especially like to thank Courage to Resist and the Bradley Manning Support Network for their tireless efforts in raising awareness for my case and providing for my legal representation.

As I transition into this next phase of my life, I want everyone to know the real me. I am Chelsea Manning. I am a female. Given the way that I feel, and have felt since childhood, I want to begin hormone therapy as soon as possible. I hope that you will support me in this transition. I also request that, starting today, you refer to me by my new name and use the feminine pronoun (except in official mail to the confinement facility). I look forward to receiving letters from supporters and having the opportunity to write back.

Thank you,

Chelsea E. Manning

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Ruth Waldram permalink

    Thank you Fearless!

    It’s pretty rude and cowardly what a lot (okay, every one I have seen) of the news outlets are doing.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The Baltimore Sun engages in Snowden and Manning bashing UPDATED | Beyond the Barricade
  2. Free Chelsea at the corporate-sponsored pride march? UPDATED | Beyond the Barricade
  3. Free Chelsea Manning! A protest at Ft. Meade UPDATED | Beyond the Barricade

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,200 other followers

